Little is known about the Columbus Zoological Company or the Columbus Zoo.
It first appeared in the 1903 City Directory as "Columbus Zoological
Gardens, High 2 mile north of city limits." On May 28, 1905, the
Columbus Zoo held its official grand opening.
The zoo occupied 215 acres in Beechwold, and
included not only animals, but rides, picnic grounds, merry-go-rounds,
billiard halls and a dance pavilion. The Columbus Zoo closed on October 7,
1905, just four short months after its official opening. All that remains
of the zoo is the maintenance barn which was called the “Monkey House” over
the years because the monkey cages were located near it. The maintenance
barn underwent a major renovation in 1983 and again in 2007. Rustic
Bridge Road (the kissing bridge) and Elk Drive also remain.
This historical information was
provided by the Clintonville Sesquicentennial Historical Committee in
celebration of Clintonville's rich history. The committee believes the
information to be accurate, but would welcome additional input.